the ups and downs of our …



 

   South Downs Odyssey


Odýssey n. a long, wandering and eventful journey!

Walk the South Downs Way … why?

So why are we aiming to walk the 100 miles of the South Downs Way? Well, a friend inspired us when she described how she and some friends had walked the full distance in many short sections and celebrated with a glass of champagne and some cake at the end at Beachy Head.  It is perhaps the champagne that seems to be the prime motivator, though we will do almost anything for cake, together with the idea of getting fitter and having the satisfaction and achievement of being able to tick off all the sections of this amazing trail through beautiful countryside.  We have both walked some sections before, we are chuffed to have completed half during 2014 and hope to finish the full South Downs Way during 2016.


Leg 4

Exton to Old Winchester Hill (3.125 miles x 2!)

Mon 28 Jul 14

1. Winchester 2. Cheesefoot Head

Leg 1
Winchester to Cheesefoot Head (3.5 miles)

Sun 21 Sep 14

Leg 2
 Cheesefoot Head
to Beauworth
(5.5 miles)

Sun 31 Aug 14


3. Beauworth 4. Exton

Leg 6
East Meon to Petersfield
(4 miles)
Sat 12 Apr 14

Leg 5
 Old Winchester Hill to East Meon
(5 miles)

Mon 5 May 14

Leg 22 – Birling Gap – Eastbourne

(6 miles)


EUREKA!!!

Leg 7

Petersfield to Harting Hill
(5.5 miles)

Thurs 10 Apr 14

Leg 8

Harting Hill to Cocking
(6.25 miles)
Thurs 17 Apr 14

Leg 9

Cocking to  

Duncton

(5.25 miles)

Thurs 15 May 144

Leg 10

Duncton to

Bury Hill

(5 miles)

Sat 23 Aug 14

Leg 11

Bury Hill to Storrington  

(6 miles)

Sat 23 May 15

Leg 12

 Storrington to Washington

(4 miles)

Fri 11 Sep 15

Leg 13

 Washington to  Chanctonbury Ring (2.75 miles)
Sun 6 Sep 15

Leg 14 Chanctonbury Ring to Beeding

(4.5 miles)

Sun 20 Sep 15

Leg 15

Beeding to

Devil’s Dyke
(5.25 miles)

Sun 4 Oct 15

Leg 16

Devil’s Dyke to Ditchling Beacon
(6 miles)
Sun 5 Jun 16

Leg 17

Ditchling Beacon to Housedean Farm
(5 miles)
Tues 21 Jun 16

 Leg 18

Housedean Farm to Southease

(7 miles)

Sun 31 Jul 16

Leg 19

Southease to Alfriston
(7 miles)
Tue 6 Sep 16

Leg 20

Alfriston
to Exceat

(3 miles)

Mon 26 Sep 16


Leg 21 – Cuckmere River to Birling Gap (5 miles)

Allison and Liz

Leg 3

Beauworth to

Exton
(5.5 miles)

Sat 2 Aug 14


20. Alfriston