South Downs Odyssey
Odýssey n. a long, wandering and eventful journey!

South Downs Way legs

Leg 11

Duncton
Littleton Farm
to Kithurst Hill (Storrington)  
6 miles

  A steady descent took us through Houghton to Amberley where the walking was very pleasant alongside the River Arun.  We must go back to Amberley when we have more time as the village has a castle, a Norman Church and 3 pubs!


We set off today in one car and armed with a list of taxi firms in the Storrington area. Our destination was Whiteways Café (the well-known bikers meeting place) at the top of Bury Hill. First of all we had to retrace our steps from the end of the previous leg but soon were back on the SDW and crossing over the A29

Just over the A29

Towards Kithurst Hill

We crossed over the river and railway line leaving the very pleasant walking conditions and on to the Hill from Hell (Amberley Mount). It was a little unfortunate that we had to tackle this cousin of the North Face of the Eiger with the sun blazing down and with no shade, so this was a real challenge. Can you get altitude sickness on the South Downs?


Amberley Mount – described on the bikers website “as possibly the steepest climb on the SDW”

One suspects Daisy the Cow has also just made an ascent of the Amberley Mount!


When we reached the top, to say that we were ready for our lunch is a massive understatement!

The walking was easier from now on with sheep and superb panoramic views, although we couldn’t decide if it was rain or just haze rolling towards us.

View back to Bury Hill

We spotted Parham House where there is a particularly important collection of early needlework (oh goody – another place to visit!!)

And then we arrived at the car park at Kithurst Hill – now it was decision time: to walk on, to walk back to the car (WHAT???) or to phone for the taxi. Of course after 6 miles there really was no decision to make, luckily there was mobile phone reception and within 10 minutes Storrington Taxis were with us and whisking us back to Whiteways.

Parham House in the distance

Tea, coffee and cakes, yes plural, were consumed sitting amongst the biking fraternity, while it steadily became darker and eventually started to rain a little. It was time to go home!

Worth every penny!

This was a good walk today. The Hill from Hell made it challenging, but having driven on the A29 for years and looked across at the stunning view it was quite special to be walking through that part of the countryside.

And every time we looked back we could still see the A29 with its steady stream of vehicles!


<Previous leg

Next leg>

1

Winchester to Cheesefoot Head

Sun 21 Sep 2014

3.5 miles

2

Cheesefoot Head to Beauworth

Sun 31 Aug 2014

5.5 miles

3

Beauworth to Exton

Sat 2 Aug 2014

4 miles

4

Exton to Old Winchester Hill

Mon 28 Jul 2014

3.125 miles

5

Old Winchester Hill to East Meon

Mon 5 May 2014

5 miles

6

East Meon to Petersfield

Sat 12 Apr 2014

4.5 miles

7

Q.E. Park to Harting Hill

Thu 10 Apr 2014

5.5 miles

8

Harting Hill to Cocking

Thu 17 Apr 2014

7 miles

9

Cocking to Duncton

Thu 15 May 2014

5.25 miles

10

Duncton to Bury Hill

Sat 23 Aug 2014

5 miles

11

Bury Hill to Storrington

Sat 23 May 2015

6 miles

12

Storrington to Washington

Fri 11 Sep 2015

4 miles

13

Washington to beyond Chanctonbury Ring

Sun 6 Sep 2015

2.75 miles

14

Chanctonbury Ring to Beeding

Sun 20 Sep 2015

4.5 miles

15

Beeding to Devil’s Dyke

Sun 4 Oct 2015

5.25 miles

16

Devil’s Dyke to Ditchling Beacon

Sun 5 Jun 2016

6 miles

17

Ditchling Beacon to Housedean Farm

Tue 21 Jun 2016

5 miles

18

Housedean farm to Southease

Sun 31 Jul 2016

7 miles

19

Southease to Alfriston

Tue 6 Sep 2016

7 miles

20

Alfriston to Cuckmere River

Mon 26 Sep
2016

3 miles

21

Cuckmere River to Birling Gap

Fri 7 Oct
2016

5 miles

22

Birling Gap to Eastbourne

Mon 10 Oct
2016

5 miles